Beaumont Leys



Philosophy & Ethics and Religious Education

Teaching team:

Teacher

Role

Contact email

Mrs Barraclough

Head of Humanities and Head of Philosophy & Ethics and Religious Education

tbarraclough@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Hargrave

Deputy Head of Humanities and Head of Geography & Teacher of Ethics

shargrave@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Radford

Assistant Headteacher/Teacher of Geography & Ethics

jradford@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Goodwin

Head of History & Teacher of Ethics

hgoodwin@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Hartland

Teacher of History & Ethics

rhartland@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Stanyard

Teacher of History & Ethics

estanyard@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Youngs

Teacher of History & Ethics

ryoungs@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Macqueen

Teacher of Geography & Ethics

jmacqueen@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Hopewell

Teacher of Geography & Ethics

mhopewell@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Humble

Teacher of Geography & Ethics

shumble@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Facilities:

We have a wide range of religious artifacts which we use to enrich students experience and education. Additionally we have technology such as laptops, iPads and a wide range of DVDs.

KS3 Curriculum

Year 7

Year 8

Year 9

Humanities

Inspirational People

Can Religion Create A Just World?

The Big Questions

We start the GCSE course (details below)

KS3 Assessment

Students are assessed using KS3 friendly versions of the GCSE assessment framework. This includes extended written answers and short answered questions.

KS4

KS4: GCSE

AQA GCSE Religious Studies A

https://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/religious-studies/gcse/religious-studies-a-8062

This course encourages students to learn how religion and ethics form the basis of today’s culture and develop valuable skills such as: analytical and critical thinking, the ability to work with abstract ideas and leadership and research that will help them in their future studies.

Christianity and Judaism form the main components of the course. Gaining a thorough understanding of Christianity as one of the diverse religious traditions and beliefs in Great Britain today students will study the beliefs, teachings and practices of Christianity and Judaism.

Students will also study religious, philosophical and ethical arguments related to contemporary issues such as the death penalty, euthanasia and gender equality. They will be challenged with questions about belief, values, meaning, purpose and truth, enabling them to develop their own attitudes towards religious and ethical issues. The different religious perspectives will be based on Christianity and Judaism. Non-religious beliefs such as atheism and humanism will also be explored.

This is a 2 year GCSE and comprises of two components. Students sit the exam in the summer of Year 10.

Component 1: The study of religions: beliefs, teachings and practices

Students study Christianity and Judaism.

How it's assessed

Written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes written paper which accounts for 50% of the GCSE.

Questions:

Each religion has a common structure of two five-part questions of 1, 2, 4, 5 and 12 marks.

Component 2: Thematic studies

Students study 4 out of a possible 6 religious, philosophical and ethical studies themes:

Theme A: Relationships and Families.

Theme B: Religion and Life.

Theme D: Religion, Peace and Conflict.

Theme E: Religion, Crime and Punishment.

How it's assessed

Written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes written paper worth 50% of the GCSE

Questions:

Each theme has a common structure of one five-part question of 1, 2, 4, 5 and 12 marks.